Posted by: Mark Sorenson | June 4, 2009

Dailies

It’s been five months since I set my new years resolutions. I can report that I am doing very well at some, and not so well at others. As I struggle to make good use of my time, and be productive, I have found that there are some things I have to do every day for everything else to work. These are my dailies.

Dailies are the things I need to do every day to take care of myself. They are things I commit to myself that I will doand many times they are the things that often get overlooked when life gets busy. Most of my dailies are done… well, daily, but some of them are done weekly, or only a few times a week. When I feel like my life is slipping into a complacent mess, I can almost always look back and realize it’s because I haven’t been doing my dailies.

Here is a list of some of my dailies:

  • Get up at 6:00am
  • Have a morning prayer
  • Eat a healthy breakfast
  • Read scriptures
  • Exercises (done 3-4 times weekly)
  • Write in my journal (done weekly)
  • Spend 30 minutes doing some kind of study or continuing education
  • Have a nightly prayer
  • In bed by 11:30pm

I have a spread sheet made up that helps me track my dailies. I can put a check mark on the list when I complete one of my dailies. This helps me see where I need to improve. On Sunday night, when I am planning my week, and evaluating the previous week, if I notice I am doing particularly bad at one or more of my dailies, I know I need to focus on those ones the most in the coming week. I can focus on showing up for myself with the commitments I made to myself to be 100% on my dailies.

Do you have dailies? Are there things you need to do every day or week that makes your life more manageable? Make a list of those things, commit to yourself that you will do them and then keep those commitments.

Leave a Reply

Categories

