Posted by: Mark Sorenson | April 15, 2009

Getting in shape

One of my goals for the year is to get in shape. What does that mean exactly you might ask? Well, it means to be healthy and active. Let me get current with this goal. For the last two and a half weeks I have been going to a mixed martial arts gym called Throwdown. I only bought a one month pass since I’ll be heading out to Denver in two weeks to work on my goal of paying off my debt selling pest control. I realize I need to set a specific goal to reach with regards to getting in shape, but I will say that no matter what that specific goal happens to be, the classes at Throwdown are getting me closer to it.

There are different classes you can attend there. There are three I think are particularly awesome. They are the kick boxing classes, the yoga classes and the renegade circuit workout classes. All three classes are brutal; even yoga. After every class I am nearly puking. Like I said, they are awesome.

My workout partner and I are both up at 5:45 am and at the gym by 6:00 am every morning. That has really helped my time management goal as well. We love the classes so much that we are blogging about it. In fact the blog that we started is an experiment to see how much traffic we can drive to the site by doing basic optimization with tags and such. I don’t know that much about optimizing a blog, but the idea is to do our best and see if we can build it to the point where it is throwing off some cash through Google Ad Sense. It will be interesting to see how far we can take it. I’ll keep everyone posted on its progress.

If you want to see the blog, you can get to it here. It’s called MMA Workouts. There you will find a description of the workout we did that morning. The workouts are actually quite fun and very different from traditional weight lifting. Anyone interested in switching up their routine should check it out.

So there you have it. Even though I am not focused on a specific goal with getting in shape, I am still getting in shape.

Leave a Reply

Categories

